Rugby Coaching Blog | Professional Rugby Advice & Coaching


The common faults of coaches by David Clarke
February 11, 2009, 2:41 pm
Filed under: Dan Cottrell, Rugby Coaching | Tags: , , ,

I have been reviewed several times in the last few weeks as part of my rugby professional development as a coach.

Here are my action points.  They are a list of “to do more of”, than to do!

1. Use the players in the demonstration.
2. Alternatively, set exercise going before getting feedback and making
rugby coaching points.
3. Develop questions rather than ask empty questions.
4. Check for engagement of players.

I was filmed as well, which helped me identify these points.

I have in front of me a list of common faults of rugby coaches. There are 43 in all. I am going to drip feed this into the blog over the next couple of weeks.

One fault that is not there though: Admitting that you make mistakes. Is that the toughest and yet most common fault?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

