Rugby Coaching Blog | Professional Rugby Advice & Coaching


Welcome to Rugby Coaching Blog- Introduction from Toby Cuthoys by David Clarke

Welcome Coach,
My name is Toby Curthoys. I’m going to be posting my thoughts and views on a wide range of rugby coaching topics in the months ahead. I’ll kick-off by telling you a bit about myself and why we have created this blog.
I am the publisher of Dan Cottrell’s Better Rugby Coaching publications and training aids. Whilst Dan makes sure the quality of everything we do is second to none, my job is to develop our range of products to reflect the needs of rugby coaches worldwide.
Unlike Dan who played to a very high standard, I have no talent for rugby. But I do have a huge passion for the game.

In my opinion there’s room for all styles of play across the vast “rugby spectrum”. I love to see fast open play, with nimble side steps by the hooker and delicate offloads by the fly half.

But I also appreciate the more gladiatorial elements of the game, like the front row combat. And if one team’s route to success is by hoofing the ball into the corners at every opportunity – then good luck to them!

In fact, I think it’s the range of playing styles, skills required and people involved that make rugby such a great game. That and the fact that anyone can play the sport and be challenged by it.

That’s why I am committed to not only helping rugby coaches, but also playing my part in expanding the sport worldwide.

This blog is for everyone involved in rugby coaching and all the issues you face have a place here. We’ll be contributing something new each week, and I’d like to extend an open invitation for you to join in with your comments.

Through this blog we can listen to what you have to say about your coaching issues and, with our many contributors, look at ways to help you.

Whether it’s individual or team skills, coach development, refereeing, player behaviour, discipline, the role of parents, team management and selection, talent spotting or fitness, Rugby Coaching Blog aims to cover it all.

Your feedback and contributions are important and valuable for coaches all over the world, as this blog allows knowledge to be shared among coaches in scores of countries.

Please get involved, comment on this blog and give us your feedback. I promise to do our best to make this the most informative and compelling rugby coaching blog on the web.

If you haven’t already, you may wish to sign up for our Better Rugby Coaching weekly newsletter. As a member, I guarantee you will receive truly valuable rugby coaching tips every week.

Best of all it’s free!

Yours in rugby

Toby Curthoys, Better Rugby Coaching Publisher

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

me gustaria recibir sus consejos ,soy entrenador de un club en formacion , tenemos solamente un año de vida ,se llama Tio Tercero Rugby Club de la zona ascenso de la union Cordobesa de Rugby de Cordoba, argentina.-

Comment by Gustavo Alberto Vargas




Leave a Reply

